76.4 F
Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Ward 8 Redistricting Task Force Meets Feb. 2

The Ward 8 Task Force will meet Wednesday, Feb. 2, 2022 at 6 p.m. Register to attend: https://tinyurl.com/redistrictingWard8

Appointed by Ward 8 Councilmember Trayon White, Sr. members are charged with establishing new boundaries for each advisory neighborhood commissions (ANCs) as well as the single member districts.

The 39-member Ward 8 Task Force is chaired by Commissioner Brian Thompson (8A03), serving as President, and resident Marcus Coates, who is Vice President.

During the last ward redistricting process, Ward 8 gained a portion of Navy Yard south and west of I-695, east of South Capitol Street, south of M Street and east of New Jersey Avenue. That includes Nationals Park, Yards Park, Canal Park as well as residential buildings in the area.

Ward 8 gained portions of Navy Yard during the 2021 Redistricting process. Screenshot: DC Council Committee of the Whole Draft Redistricting Map.

The taskforce will solicit public testimony and host map discussions via Zoom meetings on Feb. 2, Feb. 16 and March 2. On, March 16, three maps will be selected for a final vote, which will be held on March 30. For more information, email Councilmember White’s Chief of Staff Wanda Lockridge at wlockridge@dccouncil.us or Chair Brian Thompson at 8a03@anc.dc.gov.

By law, the population of a single member district (SMD), the area represented by a single commissioner, can vary from 1,900 to 2,100 residents based on the 2020 US Census data. Customarily, each ANC is drawn with an odd number of SMDs to avoid any deadlock.

Once agreed to by taskforce members and approved by the councilmember, the new Ward 8 ANC boundary maps will be voted on by the entire DC Council twice this spring. The goal is to have maps finalized in time for the June Primary Elections.

Related Articles